top of page
James R Ellis, DTM

The Power of One


Who am I? How did I become the me I am? In some cases, it is the influences in my life that formed me. Looking back, as far back as I can remember, I get a clearer picture now than I did when I was in the moment. Of course, my parents molded me into the person I would become. I did not see it at the time. My mother was the big influence in my earliest years. The power of the one person had a big influence on who I became. As a self-centered child I felt that the world needed to serve me. (My world at that time meant my mother.) She fed me, clothed me, gave me purpose and love. When I needed anything, she was there to serve me. OOPS! My childhood dream came to an end when she made rules.


“Sit and eat what I serve, when I serve it or you will need to feed yourself.” Was the breaking point. I was now going on her schedule. When she would not stop what she was doing to give me a meal when I demanded it. “Fix it yourself” was all I heard. I soon found the pantry, pots and dishes. I did. I fixed my own meals on the occasions when I decided I was too busy to eat with the family on the family schedule.


In fairness, I believe my mother helped guide me in the food preparation. I never went hungry. I was only about 100 pounds when I graduated high school. But it was never from hunger. Sometimes I ate her meal and then made an additional meal for myself.


Still as a self-centered child I asked my mother to sew patches on my scout uniform. “NOW!” I was handed the needle and thread and made to do it myself. What abuse. I had to do my own work? I had no servant (mother) to do it for me? Again, (I’m sure with her guidance) I did sew the patches on.



I did not see this at the time. I became independent and willing to do for myself when others around me did not serve me. The power of the one person, my mother, taught me to use my ability and not rely on others to serve me. Independent and self-reliant, I accept new challenges willingly. I further pass this on to others. When I work with new skills to teach others, I often watch and resist doing it in favor of watching others do while I watch. I hope I become the power of one to empower others to act independently and do for themselves. It is through action that we learn and grow.


I learned independence from my mother and pass the learning to others. Do what you can when you are given the opportunity. Ask not what can be done for you but what you can do for yourself.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page